Welcome to Nursery and the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years’ professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.
This is a very important stage as it helps to prepare your child for their future learning and successes.  From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years’ experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.

In Nursery your Child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.  These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.  These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.  The prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language (C&L);
  • Physical Development (PD); and
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED).

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.  These are:

  • Literacy (L)
  • Mathematics (M)
  • Understanding the World (UW); and
  • Expressive Arts and Design (EAD).

In Nursery the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and will help them to develop in all areas of learning.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Welcome to Nursery Letter

World Book Day!

Our Nursery children have been settling well into school life.

Nursery and Reception doing activities during Remembrance Day.